North Atlantic Treaty Organisation


About the Committee

The North Atlantic Treaty Organisation, or NATO as its commonly known, is an intergovernmental military alliance based on the North Atlantic Treaty of 1949. The Organisation constitutes a system of collective defence whereby its member states agree to mutual defence in response to an attack by an external party.

NATO is comprised of 28 states, and is governed by delegations from these states who form a council which meets weekly and has effective governance authority. The Council also often holds higher level meetings where decision regarding NATO policy are made.


1. Nuclear weapons sharing reform

2. The question of Ukraine


Jesse Cuthbert & Matthew Wong