United Nations Security Council


About the committee

Under the Charter, the Security Council has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security. It has 15 Members, and each Member has one vote, with 5 countries, United Kingdom, France, China, United States of America and Russia. Under the Charter, all Member States are obligated to comply with Council decisions. According to UN Charter Article 34, the Security Council may investigate any dispute or any situation which might lead to international friction or give rise to a dispute, in order to determine whether the continuance of the dispute or settlement is likely to endanger the maintenance of international peace and security.


1. The Question of the Ongoing Crisis in Manus Island

2. The Question of Further Santions on North Korea


Jessica Whiting & Isobel Healy